Y'know, I've realized something:

I fucking hate endings. It's a little surprising, given my love of stories, but I just can't stand 'em. Maybe it's because of my love of stories, really. In a story, the resolution could be great or terrible, but it still has to resolve. Even if the ending is purposefully disappointing, it's still an ending. The story still has to conclude. Here, in real life, things usually just... don't resolve. Imagine if your favourite story or song just cut off right before the best part, and everyone suddenly insisted that it had always done that, insisting on the 'poetry' and 'meaning' of it. Imagine if people spoke on and on about some 'divine plan' that necessitated its being cut short. It infuriates me. Gods, but I want to scream at them:
"HOW? HOW COULD YOU CONSIDER THIS GOOD? HOW IS THIS VOID FULFILLING TO YOU?"
......In the end, this is likely a broader symptom of my deep abiding loathing of the concept of unsolvable problems. I often hear sentiment about going through a bad experience, or enduring suffering, and coming out the other end a better person. I find this patently absurd for one simple reason:

If suffering made you a better person, the world would be nothing but saints by now.

Back